We’re Starting the Process!

5 Oct

So, as most of you know, Caitlin and I went to Uganda this summer to help run a bible school at the SUUBI PROJECT.  We had a great time playing with the kids and falling in love with the land and people of Uganda.  One morning out on the porch of the guest house I was reading my Bible and praying and I felt like God was saying, “How can you leave them here?” I really felt like he was saying that about a brother and sister in the orphanage and I started crying.  When I went in to tell Cheryl and Mindy, they were so excited.  I, on the other hand, felt so nervous!  What would Stan say?

When I first saw our sweet girl, who is probably 8 years old, it was the first day we were there and she came outside after finishing her homework, saw the boys playing soccer, and hopped right in!  A girl after a PE teacher’s heart!  She loves to be where the action is–dancing, jumping rope, eager to learn new things from the Americans!  Always willing to give a hug and a smile!

When I first saw our special boy, probably 9 years old, he was leading worship with the children at night before bed.  He was standing in the middle of the kids and singing at the top of his lungs in the most beautiful voice just praising the Lord!  Amazing!  I didn’t realize he was up for adoption.  I thought he was one of the house mom’s sons.  He’s already a “techie”, obsessed with my camera and phone.  He’s very protective of his sister and the other orphans and is always quick to volunteer to pray aloud.  I took a cute photo of him with three of the little kids in his lap:)

So…how was Stan going to take it?  I waited a few days to tell him…finally, I got up my nerve.  He just looked at me and said, “Well, you kept your promise, you didn’t come back wanting to adopt one, you want two!”  Lol.  Since Caitlin, our youngest, was leaving  for college at The University of Arkansas this Fall we joked I either wanted to adopt a child or get a new “empty-nester” puppy, so I got my new puppy, Gus, early in the summer!  But Stan did agree to pray about it.  That day after I talked to him, I read in James 1:6  “He who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind.”  I felt such a peace that these kids were to be our kids.

Stan kept his promise and prayed, asked all his friends’ opinions, hoping for someone to tell him he was crazy…no luck.  Stan kept saying he was waiting for a sign from the Lord…a billboard with their names on it, anything, but no big signs.  Finally, late one night after school started, he quietly said, “Yes.  My answer is yes.”  He told me he’d been feeling for a couple of weeks that it was God’s will but waited a while to tell me. I cried and cried with relief!  We started the process the next day!

Up to this point, we’ve had our home study, taken a 10-hour online class on adoption, turned in lots of paperwork for the home study, and contacted a Ugandan lawyer. There are still many, many steps to go, but we’re on our way!  I’ll be updating more in the future and giving more bits and pieces of their incredible journey up to this point, but I wanted to get everyone possible praying as we begin the process.  Love you guys!

To donate to the Suubi Project, go to http://www.thesuubiproject.org

4 Responses to “We’re Starting the Process!”

  1. Claire October 5, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    So excited for y’all! We have a passion for adoption and really love to come alongside people who are adopting in prayer. I got your information from Chelsea!

    • gigemwilliams November 28, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

      Thank you so much for the prayers! We really do feel them and are amazed at God’s presence and provision in this process already. Keep em coming:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. No Longer Orphans « the color of sunshine - November 6, 2012

    […] In case I haven’t talked your ear off about it in person enough yet, I have yet to announce through this medium that my sweet parents have made the decision to adopt! They are in the process of adopting two precious kiddos from an orphanage in Uganda, called the Suubi project. My mom wrote the long version of the story on her blog here. […]

  2. 2012:: Inspiring « the color of sunshine - January 2, 2013

    […] seven adventure, my parents made the huge decision to adopt from Uganda! I wrote about it here, and mom wrote about it here. Currently we are just waiting to hear back about the court date, and the anticipation is growing […]

Leave a comment